Dominate: The Mini-Con Welcomes Doug Anderson

doug cropped b

Doug Anderson’s first full length book of poems, The Moon Reflected Fire, received the Kate Tufts Discovery Award. Blues for Unemployed Secret Police, won a grant from the Academy of American Poets.  He has received awards and fellowships from many organizations including the National Endowment for the Arts, The Massachusetts Cultural Council, The Massachusetts Artists Foundation, Poets & Writers, The Virginia Quarterly Review.  His memoir, Keep Your Head Down, about Vietnam and the 1960s, was published by W.W. Norton in 2009.  He is also a visual artist, and teaches in the Institute of Liberal Arts and Interdisciplinary Studies at Emerson College in Boston.

Collaboration is an important part of the creative process, but it doesn’t always come easily. For many artists and entrepreneurs, myself included, the line between our endeavors and our Selves is thin.

We pour our hearts and souls into our work. We aren’t just offering an inanimate thing to our customers and clients, we offer up pieces of our being. This is good. This is what makes our offerings worthwhile.

But it can also be scary. Especially when we open up beyond just giving ourselves to the work, but including other people in our process. It’s a statement of faith and a handing over of trust.

When I came up with the idea to hold a mini-con this summer, I immediately knew that I didn’t want to be the only guide. I also knew that if I decided to invite other people to offer workshops, I needed them to be people I know well and trust implicitly.

I love my job. I care deeply for the people with whom I work. Before you’ve even told me your name, I am thinking about how our time together will affect you and your work. I care that you receive something valuable in exchange for your money. I care that you feel seen and heard. I care that you are treated with respect and kindness. Anything less than that is less than I want for you.

I had zero hesitation about inviting Doug to teach a three-hour writing workshop. The decision was as solid and crystal clear as a diamond. I know Doug’s writing. I also know him as a friend. I trust his skill and his character implicitly. I would trust him with my life, and I trust him with my clients.

Not only is Doug an accomplished writer and respected teacher, he’s hella good fun. His wit, intellect, and kindness, combined with his professional and creative background, make him a perfect fit for our weekend together.

If you’re feeling any sort of hesitation or fear about writing in a group setting, relax your shoulders and take a deep breath. It doesn’t matter if you’re attending this conference because you want to write a novel or you knit sweaters for a living, I promise you that this writing intensive will be worthwhile.

I’m so excited to have the opportunity to invite you to learn with Doug Anderson. We’re going to have a blast! Join us in July.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

