Do it Now. Put Yourself First. Pay What You Can Consultations. Seriously.

When did you start putting your own needs and desires on hold?

Maybe it was when you started a family.

Or when you convinced yourself that you needed to put your dreams on hold for the sake of practicality.

Or when your financial circumstances took an unexpected nosedive, and you had to go into survival mode, so you did whatever the heck you had to do to keep food on the table and the lights turned on. You took the minimum wage job. You stopped buying anything but necessities. You started working sixty hours a week. You started hauling your stuff to the pawnshop.

Perhaps you can’t even remember a time when you didn’t do this. Perhaps it’s because you don’t believe you’re worthy, or that your gifts aren’t significant.

No matter how this came to be, it did.

Prioritizing yourself has been pushed so far back, you’re not even on the back burner anymore. You’re not even on the stove top. You’ve fallen through the cracks and you’re up against a wall.

It’s not a great feeling, is it?

I know. I’ve been there.

Maybe you hate your job. And you keep dreaming about walking out the door, and starting your own creative business, but you’re too paralyzed to figure out how to take the first step in that direction.

Or you’ve got little ones. You love and adore them, but when people ask you what you enjoy doing, all you can come up with is story time at the library and taking naps. Being a parent is awesome, but you feel like you’ve misplaced the rest of your life. You can’t quite figure out how to be yourself and a mommy or daddy at the same time. And anyway, wouldn’t it be selfish to think you needed time to paint, write, take pictures (or whatever it is that you love and miss)?

It could be that you took the plunge. You have the business you’ve always dreamed of. But now you’re struggling. You’re overwhelmed. You don’t know how to structure your time or see things through to fruition. Marketing feels foreign and frightening. You’ve got a great project in the works, but you could really use some feedback about the direction it’s taking.

You know it sounds dramatic, so you wouldn’t say it out loud, but you feel like you’re having an emotional crisis. You feel stifled. Stuck. Sad. Angry. Drowning. Like your creativity is dead and gone.

You feel like you’re going to lose your mind if something doesn’t shift, and soon.

And it must shift. Actually, you must shift. You’re worthy. Your ideas have merit. This matters. It isn’t a waste of time. It’s not a waste of time if you’re a working artist or entrepreneur. It’s not a waste of time if you hate your god damn desk job so much you feel like screaming and crying every time the alarm clock goes off on Monday morning. And you know what? It isn’t a waste of time if you have no desire to earn a living with your creations, you just want to create for you.

But you have to believe it.

And then you have to do something about it.

You don’t have to do a lot. Just a little. Just start. Just one step.

But don’t wait another minute. Do it now. Not tomorrow. Not next week. Not when the kids are grown up. Now.

Consider it a form of internal Spring cleaning. It’s time to clear all of that junk out. It’s no longer serving a purpose. Maybe it did at one time, but that time is over. Now it’s just taking up space.

I want you to start this Spring with a clean slate and a fresh perspective. Signs of life are everywhere. You are still alive.

Close your eyes. Be still. Put your fingers on your pulse. Do you feel that? There’s no block. Your heart is pumping. Your blood is flowing. Things are moving.

For the rest of April, creativity consultations are Pay What You Can. And I mean that. I won’t presume to know what you can afford. If you send me a dollar and tell me that’s the best you can do without cutting into rent, I believe you.

Click here to pay what you can, and send me an email at withwoman@gmail.com to set up the date and time.

I can’t afford to do this indefinitely, but I can totally commit to it for the next few weeks. In fact, I can’t afford not to do this.

Because I’ve been there.

And people helped me.

And it changed my life.

Because being of service feels fantastic.

Because you deserve this. And I want you to have it.

Because your work, your art, your ideas, and your heart?

They matter. You’re going to do big things. I can feel it.

Want to win a FREE hour of consulting? Share this post on social media and tell me where to find it in the comments. On May 1st I’ll draw three winners for 60 minutes via Skype, telephone, or in person if you’re local to Amherst, MA.

 

 

11 comments

  1. This is incredible! As my entry to win an hour with you, I’ve shared on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. Thank you!!! I hope I get the chance to work with you. Nissa

    1. Hi Nissa! Thank you so much for sharing. I’m so thrilled to be able to offer this. I have such a deep love of connecting with people and watching them succeed in whatever ways they define success for themselves. It’s win/win. Readers get freebies, and I get to meet fantastic individuals with amazing talent. Best of luck! I’ll be drawing names in a few weeks.

  2. Thank you for this generous offering!! Everything you have written here could have been written about me and my life…I am a creative by nature (I was a chef for 10 yrs, I am an artist, love singing and I have a degree in interior design), but of course I do not do any of those things for a living, I instead work at a computer as a buyer for an online accessories company…where I am under paid, not appreciated, and have work constantly piled on me because I don’t say no…I tried leaving last year, but ended up staying on PT, which has turned back into more and I’m at the point of walking out again…it’s just so scary having no net and relying on the universe to catch you! So thank you for this opportunity! I posted in Pinterest and FB.

    1. Thank you for sharing! I can’t wait to draw names at the end of the month. I’m so happy to be offering this to people like you. It sounds like you have a ton of talent, and diversity in those talents, too. I feel your pain. I’ve done underpaid, unappreciated at jobs I couldn’t stand.

      I understand the scary. Yes. It can be downright terrifying, but there are lots of things we can do to minimize that fear and maximize on leveraging our options so we always have an idea of what to do next if things get sketchy. I look forward to the opportunity to talk to you about this more.

      Best wishes to you, and I hope you have a great day!

      Mani

  3. I love that you are opening the door for others to walk through, who would not normally be able to afford it. Bless you. I paid what I could via paypal and look forward to our session!

Leave a Reply

